Meet Cara Bass| Hair Tag

Meet Cara Bass, a naturalist from Sincerelycara.WordPress.com

1.     Tell us a little about you?

What do you do with your spare time?

Hey there! My name is Cara and I am 22 years old. I’m originally from the boogie down Bronx but I currently live in Waterbury, CT. I recently graduated from college, where I majored in Public Relations and minored in English. In my spare time, I love to read as well as blog and create online content.

 


2. Are you a natural? How do you feel about your hair

Yes I am a naturalista! I have a love hate relationship with my hair. I really have a hard time loving my hair when it decides to do its own thing but other than that I truly do love my hair.


3.  How long have you been natural?

Although I feel like I’ve been natural for forever and a day, I will be 2 years natural on July 30, 2017.


4.  Why did you go natural?

After having relaxed hair for about 10 years I was bored with my hair. I was also inspired by many other naturalistas on YouTube, etc. Also my relaxed had a lot of breakage and split ends so I decided I wanted to start fresh.  


5.  Was anyone against your decision? If yes, how did you surpass it?

No, actually my mother and sister were well into their natural hair journeys while I was considering doing the big chop. However, when I did do my big chop, other family members didn’t like it because my relaxed hair was long compared to my tiny afro. To surpass this I continually told myself that my beauty does not rely on the length of my hair but rather the kind and caring person that I am will ultimately showcase in my outer beauty.   


6. What’s your hair type and How do you manage your it?

I would say my hair type is between 4b and 4c. I make sure to keep my hair moisturized because type 4 hair tends to be dry. However, I really don’t care for hair typing, as long as my hair is healthy I’m happy.


7. How do you keep your hair moisturized and healthy?

I keep my hair moisturized by deep conditioning every week, as well as making sure to detangle my hair while having conditioner in it.


8. What are your goto natural hair products?

Hi I’m Cara and I am a product junkie! I love trying different products but I love the aussie moist brand, shea moisture, cantu, and so many other brands. However, I would say Aussie Moist and shea moisture are my go to products.


Are you a DIY fan?

I have tried creating my own deep conditioner courtesy of a YouTube tutorial, however I prefer to just buy my hair products.


Do you have hair goals?,Care to share some of them?

I definitely have hair goals, my hair is quite big but I do want my hair to get bigger and longer. Hopefully my twistouts will reach shoulder length by my 5 year natural hair anniversary.


9.  How do you style your hair?

I like to do twistouts and I usually wear my hair in a puff. I’m really simple when it comes to styling my hair.


10. What’s your favorite protective hairstyle to do?

My favorite protective hairstyle would have to be box braids or Senegalese twists. However, I don’t do these often in fear of damaging my edges.


11. Do you use heat on your hair?, how do you prevent heat damage?

I use heat on my hair at least once every year. The first time I straightened my hair while being natural was December of 2016. I plan on straightening my hair again in Dec. 2017. I prevent heat damage by using heat protectant and I blow dry my hair using the cold button.


Do you hairxperiment?, How crazy can you go with your hair?

I don’t experiment as much as I would like, one thing I hope to do in the future is to dye my hair. Or possibly do some kind of ombre effect. But other than that I’m not crazy about experimenting with my hair.


12. Have you faced any challenge as a natural? 

I didn’t realize how time consuming natural hair is. I have to give myself a pep talk before wash-day. Also my arms have never looked better based on all the twistouts I have done.  There are also times where I say if I had this type of hair it would be easier but I remember that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. I wouldn’t trade my hair texture for any other hair texture in the world!


13. How do you manage bad hair days?

After crying and asking my hair to comply (I’m being dramatic), I usually end up putting my hair into a puff because it’s the easiest thing for me to do.


14.  Can you share with us your thoughts on natural hair and relaxed hair?

Well, I’ve had relaxed hair and I currently have natural hair. I think it is up to the person to do what they want with their hair. Just because someone has relaxed hair doesn’t mean their hair is unhealthy. Also just because someone has natural hair doesn’t necessarily mean their hair is healthy. I think we should encourage one another to do as they please with their hair as long as it makes them happy!


15. What hair rules have you sticked to as a natural?

One rule I stick to is to only detangle my hair when it is wet. I find that detangling dry hair will definitely cause breakage. So that is the only rule I stick to. However, I also believe that you should do what makes your hair feel happy, I definitely don’t adhere to other natural hair rules and my hair is doing quite fine.


16. Can you share with us some pics of you counting your coily strands?


17. Where can we find you? 

You can find me on my blog, which is SincerelyCara.wordpress.com,

My Instagram is Sincerely4cara and my YouTube channel name is Cara Bass.


18 . What do you have to say to the new, upcoming and already naturals?

Have Fun! Enjoy every moment of your natural hair journey. Don’t take it too seriously after all it is just hair. Also remember that your beauty does not rely on the length or the texture of your hair.

If you would like to do this hair tag hit me up on-Myyeka.com@gmail.com


INSTAGRAM|TWITTER 

|


PINTEREST



4 thoughts on “Meet Cara Bass| Hair Tag

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

