Hair Tag| Meet Kayrele Sloan

    Hey guys, welcome to another Hair tag. Meet Kayrele Sloan from Many Shades of Beauty.

1. Tell us a little about you?

I am from Omaha,Ne but currently reside in the beautiful Mile High – Denver,Co. I love to learn new things! My brain runs a mile a minute & drives me crazy sometimes. I love to think lol. I am all about peace, growth, and prosperity.

What do you do with your spare time?

I love to cook, watch tv, spend time with my son, educate people, and watch YouTube. YouTube is a HUGE part of my life! 

2. Are you a natural? How do you feel about your hair

I am and I love it! Of course I have my days where me & my hair don’t get along but at the end of the day I absolutely love her(my hair)

3.  How long have you been natural?

I have been kinky curly for 1 year and 2 months. 

4.  Why did you go natural?

I was inspired by watching naturalistas on YouTube. I was tired of my stringy dull hair and I was very curious to see if my hair could possibly transform to beautiful thick curly hair like I was seeing on YouTube.

5.  Was anyone against your decision? If yes, how did you surpass it?

Yes!!! I cannot stress how much negativity I received when I told my family I was thinking about doing my big chop! A lot of people didn’t understand my decision to cut off all my ” long and beautiful hair ” (so they called it) 🙄 There was nothing beautiful about it then.

6. What’s your hair type and How do you manage your it?

I am not a fan of hair typing at all. I think people can get too lost in it. But I’d have to say I have 4a/4b/4c hair depending on the area of my head.

7. How do you keep your hair moisturized and healthy?

Protective styling!! Protective styling has allowed me to retain a lot of length and keep my hair moisturized. I have been doing the LOC method since I was transitioning & my natural hair loves this! 

8. What are your goto natural hair products?
Are you a DIY fan?

I haven’t made too big of a change in the products I use since I big chopped. My top go to products are Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioner, Aussie Moist Conditioner, African Pride Olive Miracle Hair Lotion and I can’t forget my Coconut Oil. I love to watch diys BUT I don’t do them myself. 

Do you have hair goals?,Care to share some of them?

I want to reach apl (arm pit length) or longer by the end of the year (so by the end of December)

9.  How do you style your hair?

As I mentioned I love my protective styles. I will usually do twists outs, braids or a weave.

10. What’s your favorite protective hairstyle to do?

I love my twist outs. I love them because you never know what your gonna get (for me anyway) & if all fails I love to throw it up into a messy bun! 

11. Do you use heat on your hair?, how do you prevent heat damage?

Not often and when I do I ALWAYS use Garnier Fructis Flat Iron Strengthening Mist . 

12Do you hairxperiment?, How crazy can you go with your hair?

The most I have experimented with my hair was dying it. I’m very particular but more so alittle lazy when it comes to experimenting. Right now I just do what works. 

12. Have you faced any challenge as a natural? 

More than I can count! But being natural naturally comes with its challenges but you learn to embrace and accept those challenges. Being natural is all about acceptance! You have to be confident. 

13. How do you manage bad hair days? 

Maaaan does it bother me when My hair

Doesn’t cooperate. Usually I will put it in a messy bun, let it be free and rock a curly fro or I will use a head wrap & put it away for the day. 

14.  Can you share with us your thoughts on natural hair and relaxed hair?

I love my kinky coils. I don’t want to bash relaxed hair but I am sooo glad I’m done with the creamy crack lol! I was so over the unhealthy stringy strands. My natural hair is thick, healthy and strong. I will never go back! 

15. What hair rules have you sticked to as a natural?

1: thou shall deep condition

2: thou shall detangle

3: thou shall handle thy hair with care

4: thou shall moisturize, moisturize, moisturize! 

5: thou shall be patient

6: thou shall get some silk/ satin in your life. Whether it’s a bonnet, scarf or pillowcase

16. Can you share with us some pics of you counting your coily strands?  

I can’t do this because my hair is straightened right now lol but here is my curls up close and personal months after my big chop.
Edit

17. Where can we find you? 

Snapchat: relebaby 

Blog: https://manyshadesofbeauty.wordpress.com/

18 . What do you have to say to the new, upcoming and already naturals? 

       Stay strong, determined, and persistent. Remember that the health of your hair is everything! Natural hair is a journey and has it’s ups and downs. It’s all a learning process but once you get to know your hair everything will become easier. When first starting out on your natural hair journey you will be uncomfortable and feel you are in a whole new world. You will have a lot of negative responses but I guarantee the same people who were talking stuff will come back later complimenting you or may even tell you they are interested in becoming natural themselves and want your advice. Remember you never know how your actions will effect someone else. You are beautiful, unique, and strong. Always remember to be you. 😉 💋

If you would like to participate in this hair tag, send me an email – myyeka.com@gmail.com..
Like | Comment |Share

Facebook|Twitter |Instagram

5 thoughts on “Hair Tag| Meet Kayrele Sloan

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

